Skip to content

Graduate Student Creative Writing Award Winners to Read

On Monday, 4/22, at 7pm, in Room 101 of Strong Hall, the UT Graduate Student Award Winners will read as part of the University of Tennessee Creative Writing Series.  Each spring, the Creative Writing Program awards first, second, and third-place prizes for the John C. Hodges Award for Fiction Writing and the John C. Hodges Award for Poetry Writing. Awards are made possible by the John C. Hodges Better English Fund, endowed by the long-time UT English professor and author of the Harbrace College Handbook, for whom the Hodges Library is named.

This year’s winners are:

First Prize: Sam Edmonds
Second Prize: Ben DeHaven
Third Prize: Shane Stricker

First Prize: Katie Condon
Second Prize: Ian Hall
Third Prize: Chloe Hanson

This year’s fiction judge was Ted Thompson, and the poetry judge was Keetje Kuipers

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.