Skip to content

Winners of the 2017 J. Paul Blakely Awards Announced

The winners of the 2017 J. Paul Blakely Competition were honored in a ceremony and banquet on May 4th at Rothchild Catering in Knoxville.

The Blakely awards honor student excellence in technical communications and science journalism.  Awards are given in both undergraduate and graduate divisions in the categories of Technical Communication and Science Journalism.

In 1986, the East Tennessee Chapter of the Society for Technical Communication established this competition to recognize excellent students in scientific and technical communication and to honor one of their most distinguished former members: J. Paul Blakely.

Congratulations to this year’s winners:

Undergraduate Division: Technical/Professional Communication

Award of Distinction: Noreen Premji

Award of Excellence: Taylor Gray

Award of Merit: Anthony Rivera

Undergraduate Division: Science Writing

Award of Merit: Savanah DeFreese


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.