Skip to content

John C. Hodges Graduate Student Writing Award Winners to Read

The University of Tennessee’s final Writers in the Library event of the academic year will feature readings by student winners of the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards. Readings from the winning works will take place in the Hodges Library auditorium tonight, at 7:00 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.  Awards are made possible by the English Department through the John C. Hodges Better English Fund, endowed by the long-time UT English professor and author of the Harbrace College Handbook, for whom the Hodges Library also is named.

2013 winners of the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards:


  • First Prize: Ryan Woldruff, for “Still, This Might Be a Love Story”
  • Second Prize: Daniel Wallace, for “My Arctic Circle”
  • Third Prize: Tawnysha Greene, for “All God’s Children”


  • First Prize: Stephanie Duggers, for a series of poems
  • Second Prize: Christian Anton Gerard, for a series of poems (“Defense of Poetry”)
  • Third Prize: Tawnysha Greene, for a series of poems

Christian Anton Gerard’s first book, Wilmot Here, Collect For Stella is forthcoming from WordTech Press in 2014.  He’s the recipient of a Chancellor’s Honors Award for Professional Promise, scholarships from the Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference and serves as editor of Grist: The Journal for Writers. His poems appear widely in national literary magazines.  He is a doctoral student in the Creative Writing Program. Daniel Wallace was born in London and has spent the last ten years getting farther and farther away from it. His work has been published in McSweeney’s and the Tampa Review.  He is a doctoral fiction writer in the Creative Writing Program.?Tawnysha Greene is a doctoral poet in the Creative Writing Program, formerly the nonfiction editor for Grist: The Journal for Writers.  She has published widely, and will be a full-time instructor in the English Department next year.??Ryan Woldruff is a doctoral writer in the Creative Writing Program.  He co-directed the 2013 Young Writers Institute at the University of Tennessee.  Stephanie Duggers is a doctoral poet in the English Department at the University of Tennessee.

Winners of the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards will receive $500 for First Prize, $300 for Second Prize, and $100 for Third Prize in each category. This year’s judges were English faculty Laura Hoffer and Chuck Maland in fiction, and author (and former Writer-in-Residence at the UT Libraries) Brian Griffin in poetry, The public is invited to join the university community for readings by these accomplished, up-and-coming writers.

Writers in the Library is sponsored by the University of Tennessee Libraries and the UT Creative Writing Program in association with the John C. Hodges Better English Fund. For further information contact Marilyn Kallet, Director, UT Creative Writing Program (, or Christopher Hebert, Writer-in-Residence, UT Libraries (  Additional information about the Writers in the Library series cab be found on Facebook at or by following them at

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.