Skip to content

Congratulations to the Winners of the 2018 Creative Writing Awards

The Department of English is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018  Creative Writing Awards.  The following are the undergraduate award winners:

Michael Dennis Poetry Award

  • First Place: Katherine Culligan
  • Second Place: Catherine Carr Dartez

Captain Robert A. Burke Award for Fiction

  • First Place: Ashley Baker
  • Second Place:  Monica Brashears

Eleanora Burke Award for Nonfiction

  • First Place: Starla Sloan
  • Second Place: Katherine Culligan

The winners of the 2018 John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards are as follows.

Fiction Writing Contest, judged by Kelly Luce

First Prize: Elizabeth Weld

Second Prize: Richard Hermes

Third Prize: Anna Megdell

Poetry Writing Contest, judged by Ladan Osman

First Prize: Jeremy Reed

Second Prize: Ian Hall

Third Prize: Nicole Yackley

The winners of the John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards will be reading on Monday, 4/23, at 7pm, in the Lindsay Young Auditorium of the John C. Hodges Library, as part of UT’s Writers in the Library reading series.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.