Skip to content

Congratulations to the English Department’s 2019 Award Winners

We congratulate the outstanding English majors and minors who received awards at the English Department’s thirteenth annual honors convocation on May 8, 2019.

The following undergraduates were recognized for their extraordinary achievements:

English Department Scholarships 2018-2019

Edwin Watson Bowe Scholarship:  Jaime Hendrickson

Felice and Boudleaux Bryant-Michael Dennis Scholarship:  Madeleine Yates

William W. Jenkins Scholarship:  Joshua Sales and Erin Stackhouse

Louise and Aileen Seilaz Scholarship:  Trystan Jamison

Michael Dennis English Scholarship:  Rachel Harper

Carl A. Vines Scholarship:  Deming Callahan

Patsy G. Hammontree Literary Endowed Scholarship:  Katie Culligan

Charles and Frances Mangam Merit Scholarships

  • Jeff Bronner
  • Catherine Dartez
  • Sawyer Lambdin
  • Valerie Lick
  • Madeline Stephens
  • Gage Taylor
  • Anita Voorhees
  • William White

Creative Writing, Technical Communication, and Undergraduate Research Awards

Paul Blakely Awards for Technical Communication

Award of Distinction:  Evan Newell

Award of Merit:  Stephen Ray

Captain Robert A. Burke Award for Fiction

First Place:  Katie Culligan

Second Place: Traci Haun Owens

Eleanora Burke Award for Non-Fiction

First Place:  Katie Culligan

Second Place:  Monica Brashears

Michael Dennis Award for Poetry

First Place:  Bailey Martin

Second Place:  Monica Brashears

Margaret Artley Woodruff Award for Creative Writing

  • Monica Brashears
  • Katie Culligan
  • Bailey Martin
  • Joshua Sales

EURēCA Awards, College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division

Award of Excellence:  Julia Walsh

Honorable Mention:  Anita Voorhees

Michael Dennis Award for Best Essay

Kelli Frawley

English Honors Theses 2018-2019

Morgan Brewer

Project Title: “The Space in Between:  A Short Collection

Director:  Prof. Michael Knight

Fiona Martin

Project Title: “Queer Spacetime:  Theorizing Transitional Gender in Virginia Woolf’s Orlando and Jeanette Winterson’s The PowerBook

Director:  Prof. Gerard Cohen-Vrignaud

Madeline Stephens

Project Title: “The Tragic Mulatta Trope:  Complexities of Representation, Identity, and Existing in the Middle of the Racial Binary”

Director: Prof. Lisi Schoenbach

Gage Taylor

Project Title: “The Beer Diaries”

Director:  Prof. Margaret Dean

McClayne Thomas

Project Title: “‘Queen O’er Myself’:  Echoes of Elizabeth I in The Merchant of Venice’s Portia”

Director:  Prof. Heather Hirschfeld

Anita Voorhees

Project Title: “Metaphor Theory and its Relation to Social Policy”

Director:  Prof. Lisa King

Anne Hight Gore Prize for Best Honors Thesis

Fiona Martin

 University and College Awards

Torchbearer Award

  • Jasmine Blue
  • Madeline Stephens

Top Collegiate Scholar Awards

  • Jasmine Blue
  • Sawyer Lambdin
  • Reagan Yessler

Chancellor’s Award for Extraordinary Professional Promise

  • Joshua Sales
  • Madeline Stephens
  • Gage Taylor

Chancellor’s Award for Extraordinary Academic Achievement

  • Anita Voorhees
  • Reagan Yessler

College of Arts and Sciences Outstanding Graduates

  •  Deming Callahan (Creative Writing)
  • Rebekah Hunn (Literature)
  • Julia Walsh (Rhetoric and Writing)
  • Miranda Campbell (Technical Communication)

Congratulations to these award winners, and to all our Spring and Summer 2019 graduates!

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.