Skip to content

Ongoing Programs

The department sponsors a number of ongoing outreach programs. These include:

The V. Carolyn Martin Summer Stipends

An annual program that has been underway for almost two decades, these fellowships pay part of the tuition fees of high school and college teachers who wish to attend summer sessions and either work for advanced degrees in English or otherwise increase their knowledge and expertise. These awards are made only for courses taken for graduate credit. Applications should be mailed to the director of Graduate Studies before February 15 each year.

The Brian M. Conley Young Writers’ Institute

Begun in 1993, the Young Writers’ Institute offers creative writing workshops each summer to high school students and their teachers, free of cost. This year is our tenth anniversary of the Young Writers’ Institute. We have served more than 1,300 public school teachers and students. Instructors at the Young Writers’ Institute have included poet and director Marilyn Kallet, novelist Allen Wier, performance poet Daniel Roop, and poets Heather Dobbins and Jesse Graves, among many others. For more information about the Institute, contact Marilyn Kallet, director of Creative Writing, at 865-974-6947;

The Stokely Writing Conference

This conference takes place each summer and brings together local high school teachers for several days of workshops. Participants learn techniques and strategies to help teach writing to high school students.

The Creative Writing Visiting Writers Series

This series sponsors regular visits by distinguished creative writers. The public is invited to these readings, and the writers often visit schools and other community sites as well. Poets and fiction writers who have visited UT since 1980 include Gloria Naylor, Alan Cheuse, Sharon Olds, Robert Hass, C.K. Williams, Mary Oliver, Lynn Freed, Denise Levertov, William Stafford, William Matthews, Louise Gluck, Lucy Ferriss, David Ray, Judy Ray, Robert Bly, Louis Simpson, Al Young, Li-Young Lee, Tess Gallagher, Alice Friman, Garrett Hongo, Clayton Eshleman, Carolyn Forche, Diane Wakoski, X.J. Kennedy, W.D. Snodgrass, Jeanne McDonald, Fred Brown, Don Williams, Chris Hebert, Bobbie Ann Mason, Terrence Hayes, Elizabeth Gilbert, Yusef Komunyakaa, Marge Piercy, Alice Friman, Natalie Bakopoulos, Adam Johnson, Adam Zagajewski, and David Madden.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.