Skip to content

Student Winners of 2017 John C. Hodges Awards in Creative Writing to Read as Part of Writers in the Library Series

Student winners of the University of Tennessee’s graduate-level writing awards will read from their winning works on Monday, April 17. The event is part of UT’s Writers in the Library reading series.

Readings begin at 7 p.m. in the Lindsay Young Auditorium of the John C. Hodges Library. The public is invited to join the university community for readings by these accomplished, up-and-coming writers.

Each spring, the Creative Writing Program awards first-, second-, and third-place prizes for the John C. Hodges Award for Fiction Writing and the John C. Hodges Award for Poetry Writing. Awards are made possible by the John C. Hodges Better English Fund, endowed by the long-time UT English professor and author of the Harbrace College Handbook, for whom the Hodges Library is named.

This year’s winners and readers are:

Fiction Writing Contest, judged by Ted Thompson
First Prize: Mollie Swayne
Second Prize: Lance Dyzak
Third Prize: Elizabeth Weld

Poetry Writing Contest, judged by Keetje Kuipers
First Prize: Ben McClendon
Second Prize: Elysia Mann
Third Prize: Jeremy Reed

Writers in the Library hosts readings by noted authors of fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction. The series is sponsored by the UT Libraries and the Creative Writing Program in association with the John C. Hodges Better English Fund.

For more information, contact Erin Elizabeth Smith, Jack E. Reese Writer-in-Residence at the UT Libraries, at or visit the Writers in the Library webpage at

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.