Skip to content

2016 Creative Writing Awards Announced

The Creative Writing Program and the Department of English at the University of Tennessee is pleased to announce the winners of our 2016 Creative Writing Awards.

The winners of the Department of English’s Undergraduate Creative Writing Awards are as follows:

Bain-Swiggett Poetry Prize

First Prize: Bridget L. Sellers, “Chicago”

Second Prize: Shelby Tansil, “Apple of My Eye”

Knickerbocker Poetry Prize

First Prize: Natalie Coughlin, “2012”

Second Prize: Spencer Trent, “Bone Burial”

Third Prize:Taylor Olson, “The drink in your hand”

Judged by Ben McClendon

Captain Robert A. Burke Award for Fiction

First Prize: “The Whistling Doll,” by Lauren Olivia Yount

Second Prize: “Calcaneus,” by Barbara Elizabeth Gibson

Judged by Helen Stead

Eleanor Burke Award for Nonfiction

First Prize: Bridget L. Sellers, “Millenial Poetics”

Second Prize:Shelby Tansil, “Growing Up Fat”

Judged by Michael Shum
The winners of the 2016 John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Awards are as follows:

Fiction Writing Contest, judged by Allen Wier

First Prize—Elizabeth Weld

Second Prize—Richard Hermes

Third Prize—Matt Brock

Poetry Writing Contest, judged by Brad Tice

First Prize—Jeb Herrin

Second Prize—Katie Condon

Third Prize—Elysia Mann

The John C. Hodges Graduate Writing Award Winners will will read from their work in the last reading of the Writers in the Library Series, Monday, April 18, at 7pm, in the Hodges Library Auditorium.

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.