Skip to content

2014 Creative Writing Awards Announced

The Creative Writing Program at the University of Tennessee is pleased to announce the winners of this year’s Creative Writing Awards.

First prize for these undergraduate awards is $200; Second Prize is $100. The Eleanora Burke Prize has one winner with a $300 prize. The winners of the Undergraduate Creative Writing Awards are as follows:

Knickerbocker poetry prize:
First: Grant Howard, for “At the D.C. Holocaust Museum with My Cousin”
Second: Rachael MacLean, for “Eve with Mother”

Honorable Mentions: Luke Marinac, for “Divination”
Mollie Swayne, for “How People Become Poets”
Judge: Brian Keathley

Bain-Swiggett poetry prize:
First: Bridget Sellers, for “July Heat”
Second: Mark Schelstrate, for “Market Square”

Eleanora Burke prize for nonfiction:
First: Claire Dodson, for “Popping the Culture Bubble: A Column Collection”
Judge: Richard Hermes

Captain Robert A. Burke Award for fiction:
Colby Swift, for “Graceland”
Lucy Branam, for “It Began at the Pond”
Judge: Tawnysha Greene

First, second and third prize winners of the Graduate Student Creative Writing Awards  will read at the April 14th Writers in the Library event, which will be hosted by Michael Knight and held in Hodges Library Auditorium, at 7 pm. First Prize for the Graduate student winners is $500 dollars. Second Prize is $300 dollars, and Third Prize is $100 dollars

The Graduate Poetry Prize winners are as follows:

First Place: Jake Ward, for “Lucy Goes to the Hospital and never returns”
Second Place: Ben McClendon, for “Habitat for Humanity” and other poems
Third Place: Christian Anton Gerard, for “The Poet Thinking He’s Milton’s Adam,” and other poems

Honorable mentions:
Stephanie Dugger, for “Mid-August Meteor Shower, Vedauwoo, WY,” and other poems
Jonathan Brehm, for “I’m a Pigeon,” and other poems
Andrew Dillon, for “Viscosity” and other poems

The judge was Dr. Kristi Maxwell

The Graduate Student Fiction Prize winners are as follows:
First Prize: Genna Gazelka, for “As Chickadees Fall”
Second Prize: Michael Shou-Yung Shum, for “The Disappearance of Herman Grimes”
Third Prize: Katherine Ann Davis, “My Collector,” novel excerpt

Honorable Mention: Richard Hermes, “The Rubber Tapper’s Knife”

The judge was Dr. Martin Griffin

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.