Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Graduate Faculty

Mary E. Papke


420 McClung Tower
Phone: (865) 974-6953
Fax: (865) 974-6926


  • B.A., University of Illinois
  • M.A., Ph.D. McGill University


Representative articles

  • “Naturalism and Commodity Culture” in The Oxford Handbook of American Literary Naturalism, ed. by Keith Newlin (Oxford:  Oxford University Press, 2011): 291-306.
  • “The ‘Other Countries’ of the Human Mind and Soul:  James R. Giles on Twentieth-Century Naturalism,” Studies in American Naturalism, 5.1 (Summer 2010):79-91.
  • “Why Students Should Read Frank Norris First,” with Anne Mayhew, ALN:  The American Literary Naturalism Newsletter 4.1-2: 7-11.
  • “So Long As We Read Chopin,” in Awakenings:  The Story of the Kate Chopin Revival, ed. by Bernard Koloski (Baton Rouge:  Louisiana State University Press): 77-93.
  • “The Failure of Narrative and the Efficacy of Dreams in The Night of the Hunter,” in Agee Agonistes:  Essays on the Life, Legend, and Works of James Agee.  Ed. by Michael A. Lofaro.  Knoxville:  The University of Tennessee Press, 2007.  147-156.
  • “A Space of Her Own:  Pamela Zoline’s  ‘The Heat Death of the Universe,’” in Daughters of Earth:  Feminist Science Fiction in the Twentieth Century.  Ed. by Justine Larbalestier.  Middletown:  Wesleyan University Press, 2006.  144-159.
  • “Susan Glaspell’s Naturalist Scenarios of Determinism and Blind Faith,” in Disclosing Intertextualities:  The Stories, Plays, and Novels of Susan Glaspell.  Eds. Martha Carpentier and Barbara Ozieblo.  Amsterdam:  Rodopi, 2006.  19-34.
  • “Susan Glaspell’s Last Word on Democracy and War,” in Susan Glaspell:  New Directions in Critical Inquiry.  Ed. Martha Carpentier.  Cambridge:  Cambridge Scholars Publishing, 2006.  80-88.
  • “What Do Women Want?” Context: A Forum for Literary Arts and Culture 11 (Fall 2002): 12-13
  • “Players in the Dark: Evelyn Scott’s Drama of Excess,” in Evelyn Scott: Recovering a Lost Modernist, ed. Dorothy Scura (Knoxville: University of Tennessee Press, 2001), 177-186
  • “Bring in the Usual Complexities,” American Book Review 22.5 (July/August 2001), 5,7
  • “Susan Glaspell (1 July 1876-27 July 1948),” Dictionary of Literary Biography, Twentieth-Century American Dramatists, ed. Christopher Wheatley (Detroit: Gale Research Company, 2000)
  • “Reading Carol De Chellis Hill,” Context 4 (2000), 8-9
  • “Martha Nussbaum’s 10K Race for Justice,” Soundings 83. 3-4 (Fall/Winter 2000), 612-614
  • Review of Henry James’s The Ambassadors: A Critical Study by Dorothea Krook, The Henry James Review 20.2 (Spring 1999), 208-10
  • Review of Main-Travelled Roads by Hamlin Garland, Borderlines: Studies in American Culture 3.4 (1996), 440-41
  • “Mary E. Papke on ‘The Story of an Hour,'” in Kate Chopin: A Study of the Short Fiction by Benard Koloski (NY: Twayne, 1996), 132-34
  • Review of The Cambridge Companion to American Realism and Naturalism: Howells to London, ed. by Donald Pizer, Borderlines: Studies in American Culture 3.2 (1996), 197-98
  • “American Marxwomen: Duelling with Historical Materialism” in Germany and German Thought in American Literature and Cultural Criticism, edited by Peter Freese (Essen: Verlag Die Blaue Eule, 1990), 454-469
  • “‘The Transcendental Phallus’: Fascism and Klaus Theweleit’s Male Fantasies,” Literature and Psychology 35.4 (1989), 55-61
  • “Chopin’s Stories of Awakening,” in Approaches to Teaching Chopin’s ‘The Awakening’(1988), 73-79
  • (with William Morgan), “Recoil or Convergence: What Happens When a Woman and a Man Read a Text Together?” in Academic Writing as Social Practice by Linda Brodkey (Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1987), 152-162
  • “The Absent Text: Luce Irigaray’s Foray into the Dark Continent of Femininity,” Literature and Psychology, 32 (1986), 53-56
  • “‘Mutable Anarchy’: Bravery and Trepidation in Jean Thompson’s Fiction,” Illinois Writers Review, 4 (Winter 1985), 4-5
  • “Light Reading on Heavy Matters,” Illinois Writers Review, 4 (Fall 1985), 13
  • “An Analysis of Selected American Marxist Criticism, 1920-1941: From Dogma to Dynamic Strategies,” The Minnesota Review, n.s. 13 (Fall 1979), 41-70.

Awards, Honors & Grants

  • Notable UT Woman of the Year award, Commission for Women, University of Tennessee, 2018.
  • D. Allen Carroll Distinguished Teaching Professor, 2015-2017.
  • Conferred as Distinguished Member of The National Society of Collegiate Scholars, Fall, 2015.
  • James R. and Nell W. Cunningham Outstanding Teaching Award, College of Arts & Sciences, The University of Tennessee, 2012.
  • Chancellor’s Citation for Extraordinary Service to the University, The University of Tennessee, April 2012
  • Chancellor’s Citation for Extraordinary Contribution to the Ready for the World Initiative, The University of Tennessee, April 2010
  • Invited Speaker for Graduate Hooding Ceremony, The Graduate School, University of  Tennessee, December 2010
  • 2010 Faculty Appreciation Award for Best Inside-the-Classroom Professor, Graduate Students in English organization, Department of English, The University of Tennessee, 2010
  • 2002-2003 Faculty Appreciation Award for Excellence in the Role of Professor Outside the Academic Classroom, Graduate Students in English organization, Department of English, The University of Tennessee, 2003
  • Elected a Fellow of the Society for Values in Higher Education, 2001
  • Elected to Phi Kappa Phi, 1999
  • College of Arts & Sciences Senior Faculty Teaching Award, 1998-99
  • John C. Hodges Excellence in Teaching Award, 1987

Associations & Organizations

  • Chair of the Board for The Tennessee Studies in Literature series, 2008—
  • Member of Executive Board, Edith Wharton Society, 2005 –2007
  • Member of Advisory Board, Kate Chopin Society, 2005 —
  • Member of Advisory Board for Fc2, 2005-2010
  • Member of Executive Council and Bibliographer of the Susan Glaspell Society, 2003 —
  • Editorial Board, Soundings: An Interdisciplinary Journal, 1995–
  • Assistant editor, Literature and Psychology, 1985-1999
  • President, UT Faculty Senate, 1999-2000
  • President-Elect, UT Faculty Senate, 1998-1999