Skip to content

Professorial Faculty

Name Title Phone Email
Misty Anderson Professor of English & Adjunct Professor of Theatre and Religious Studies (865) 974-5401 manderson@utk.edu
Janet Atwill Professor (865) 974-6939 jatwill@utk.edu
Kirsten Benson Director, Writing Center (865) 974-8266 kbenson@utk.edu
Amy Billone Associate Professor (865) 974-6966 abillone@utk.edu
Katy Chiles Associate Professor (865) 974-6945 kchiles1@utk.edu
Gerard Cohen-Vrignaud Associate Professor (865) 974-6944 gerard@utk.edu
Dawn Coleman Director of Graduate Studies & Associate Professor (865) 974-6934 dcolema7@utk.edu
Michelle Commander Associate Professor (865) 974-6974 mcommand@utk.edu
Margaret Lazarus Dean Associate Professor & Director of Creative Writing (865) 974-0899 mdean4@utk.edu
Allen Dunn Department Head and Professor (865) 974-6928 ardunn@utk.edu
Mary Dzon Associate Professor (865) 974-6948 mdzon@utk.edu
Amy Elias Professor (865) 974-6964 aelias2@utk.edu
Stanton B. Garner, Jr. Professor of English and Adjunct Professor of Theatre (865) 974-6973 sgarner@utk.edu
Jessi Grieser Assistant Professor (865) 974-6969 jgrieser@utk.edu
Martin Griffin Associate Professor (865) 974-7166 wmg@utk.edu
Thomas F. Haddox Professor (865) 974-1730 thaddox@utk.edu
Bill Hardwig Associate Professor (865) 974-6937 whardwig@utk.edu
Joy Harjo Professor and Chair of Excellence (865) 974-6905
Hilary Havens Assistant Professor (865) 974-6958 hhavens1@utk.edu
Christopher Hebert Assistant Professor of English (865) 974-6946 chebert3@utk.edu
Thomas J. Heffernan Director of UT Humanities Center (865) 974-4256 theff@utk.edu
Nancy Henry Distinguished Professor in the Humanities and Professor (865) 974-6960 nhenry3@utk.edu
Heather Hirschfeld Professor (865) 974-6961 hhirschf@utk.edu
Russel Hirst Associate Professor (865) 974-6952 rkh@utk.edu
Laura Howes Professor and Associate Department Head (865) 974-6930 lhowes@utk.edu
La Vinia Delois Jennings Distinguished Professor in the Humanities & Professor of Twentieth-Century American Literature and Culture (865) 974-6959 laviniaj@utk.edu
Marilyn Kallet Professor (865) 974-6947 mkallet@utk.edu
Lisa King Assistant Professor (865) 974-6941 lking33@utk.edu
Michael Knight Professor (865) 974-6972 mknight@utk.edu
Ben Lee Associate Professor (865) 974-6962 blee15@utk.edu
Roy M. Liuzza Professor (865) 974-6939 rliuzza@utk.edu
Michael A. Lofaro Professor (865) 974-4928 lofaro@utk.edu
Charles Maland J. Douglas Bruce Professor (865) 974-6963 cmaland@utk.edu
Sean Morey Assistant Professor 865-974-6938 smorey@utk.edu
Gῖchingiri Ndῖgῖrῖgῖ Associate Professor (865) 974-6942 jndigiri@utk.edu
Mary E. Papke Professor (865) 974-6953 papke@utk.edu
Jeffrey M. Ringer Assistant Professor (865) 974-6956 jeff.ringer@utk.edu
Tanita Saenkhum Assistant Professor & Director of ESL (865) 974-6955 tsaenkhum@utk.edu
Lisi Schoenbach Associate Professor (865) 974-4839 aschoenb@utk.edu
Urmila Seshagiri Associate Professor (865) 974-8002 sesha@utk.edu
Arthur Smith Professor (865) 974-6935 artsmith@utk.edu
Robert Stillman Professor (865) 974-6971 rstillma@utk.edu
Anthony Welch Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies (865) 974-6937 awelch8@utk.edu
John Zomchick Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs (865) 974-3265 zomchick@utk.edu

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.